THINGS TO DO IN WILDERNESS

Wilderness is known as the 'Jewel of the Garden Route' and here's a list of activities you can do in the area:

  • Natural beauty of the Indian Ocean, Wilderness Beach, Outeniqua Mountains
  • Wilderness National Park is in the Garden Route National Park established by SANParks and is located in the heart of the Garden Route between George and Knysna, consisting of 5 lakes, 5 rivers, 2 estuaries and 28km of beach in 121,000 hectares.
  • Indian Ocean, lagoon, lakes, estuaries, beaches provides for myriad activities or sit back and enjoy the dolphins (all year-round) and whales (winter season).
  • Every kind of adventure activity is possible, Surfing and Kite Surfing, Kayaking, Canoeing, Scuba diving, Paddle Boarding, Biking, Paragliding, Hiking, Abseiling, Kloofing, Boating, Fishing, Nature Trails, Sites of archaeological significance.
  • Yoga and pilates
  • Birdwatching – Wilderness National Park RAMSAR site covers a Forest, River Wetland, Tidal Estuary, Forest and Wetland Habitats.
  • Trails – Brownhooded Kingfisher Trail (5km 2-3 hours), Half Collared Kingfisher Trail (7.2km 3-4 hours), Pied Kingfisher Hiking Trail (11.5km 3-4 hours), Giant Kingfisher Hiking Trail 3.5km 3-4 hours)
  • Spot 85 different types of birds including: Giant Kingfisher, Malachite Kingfisher, Pied Kingfisher, Half Collared Kingfisher, Brownhooded Kingfisher, Knysna Turaco, Grey Cuckooshrike, Black Backed Puffback, Nariona Trogon, Cape Batis, Yellow Throated Woodland Warbler, Green Wood-Hoopoe, Paradise Flycatcher, Olive Woodpecker, White-starred Robin, Chorister Robin, Cape Robin, Grey Heron, Little Egret, Knysna Loerie, South African Oyster Catcher.
  • Cloudbase Paragliding (Wilderness) –cloudbase-paragliding.co.za
  • Segway Tours (Wilderness) –zucsegwayfunhini.co.za
  • Eden Adventures (Wilderness) –eden.co.za
  • South African National Parks (walking trails / bird hides) –sanparks.org
  • Redberry Farm (George) –redberryfarm.co.za
  • Herold Wines (Herold) –heroldwines.co.za
  • Birds of Eden (The Crags outside Plettenberg Bay) –birdsofeden.co.za
  • Cango Caves (Oudtshoorn) –cango-caves.co.za
  • Elephant Park (Knysna) –knysnaelephantpark.co.za
  • Monkeyland (The Crags outside Plett) –monkeyland.co.za
  • Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary (The Crags outside Plett) –jukani.co.za
  • Ocean Safaris (Plettenberg Bay) –oceansafaris.co.za
  • Garden Route Wolf Sanctuary –wolfsanctuary.co.za
  • Cango Wildlife Ranch & Conservation Centre (Oudtshoorn) –cango.co.za
  • Meerkat Magic (Conservation through Education) (Oudtshoorn) –meerkatmagic.com
  • Highgate Ostrich Show Farm (Oudtshoorn) –highgate.co.za
  • Featherbed Nature Reserve (Knysna) –knysnafeatherbed.com
  • Radical Raptors (Bird of Prey rehabilitation centre) (Plett) –radicalraptors.co.za
  • Bramon Wine Estate (The Crags outside Plett) –bramonwines.co.za
  • Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours –canopytour.co.za
  • Bloukrans Bungy jumping (Storms River) –faceadrenalin.com
  • Blackhorse Trails –blackhorsetrails.co.za
  • Garden Route Botanical Garden – George - 19-hectare local indigenous botanical garden
  • Kaaimans River Pass
  • Seven Passes Road
  • Dolphin Point – look out viewing point at Kaaimans Pass, stunning views to Kaaimans River Mouth, world-renowned Wilderness coastline and the Indian Ocean, and dolphins (whales June – September), Kaaimans River Bridge which was used by the Outeniqua Choo Choo a steam train which no longer operates due to a mudslide in 2006 closing the track.
  • Map of Africa Viewpoint– a natural wonder of a river formation that defines the map of Africa.  To the other side is the launch area for paragliding with breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean below.
AVAILABILITY